EDD Online Filing Required January 1, 2017
Beginning January 1, 2017, employers with 10 or more employees will be required to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development.
If you are trying to manage this yourself, please call our office 909-477-3333. Don’t risk fines and penalties. We offer reasonable rates for our payroll services and can manage your electronic filing obligations.
Minimum Wage for the State of California is $10.50 per hour for all employers with more than 25 employees. It is still $10.00 if you have less than 25 employees. (as updated from the American Institute for Professional Bookkeepers) What does this mean? If you have 25 employees who work a minimum of 35 hours per week (as determined by the IRS) then you would need to pay a minimum of $10.50. If you have 5 full time employees and 20 employees who work 25 hours per week, you would have a total of 19 FTE (Full Time Equivalent) employees and would have to pay a minimum of $10.00 per hour.
From the Benefits Consultancy Blog dated Feb 02.2017
Changes already in place – a hold on the increase in Exemption threshold for salaried employees – Cybersecurity laws are being worked on to become part of workplace laws. This one I’m eager to see if it will favor the employee or the employer. California Cybersecurity laws currently favor the employee. Stay tuned on these items.